Distinguished Fellows

Jack P. Russell
Northwestern State University


Dr. Jack Russell is the Bell South Professor of Computer Information Systems at Northwestern State University of Louisiana in Natchitoches (pronounced “Nakitesh”) Louisiana. Dr. Russell has taught at Northwestern for 10 years where he was also the CIS Coordinator until 2006. Dr. Russell was a Regents Professor with the Texas A&M University System where he taught at Tarleton State University. Dr. Russell was also the Director of Information Engineering at Tarleton for several years. Dr. Russell is also the author of two successful textbooks on the subject of programming design, and the author of many papers and journal articles on various MIS/IS topics and matters related to IS curriculum.

Dr. Russell’s prowess as a systems analysis and design teacher is well-known around the nation where his student teams have consistently won or placed in a number of AITP National Collegiate Conference (NCC) national titles. Dr. Russell was the recipient of the 2006 “Educator of the Year” award granted by the AITP Education Foundation and EDSIG. He was also the 2005 recipient of the “Ben Bauman Award of Excellence” from the International Association of Computer Information Systems (IACIS). Dr. Russell served as the AITP EDSIG president on three different occasions: He served as president in both 1998 and 1999, and again in 2003.

Dr. Russell was instrumental in helping revive the Journal of Information Systems (JISE) during difficult financial times for AITP EDSIG, and for helping create a positive partnership and a viable contractual arrangement with the foundation (FITE) for conducting and managing ISECON.

About AITP-EDSIG Fellows

Each year Fellows are inducted in honor of their sustained, long-term, meaningful and effective support of EDSIG in its ongoing mission to improve IS Education, mentor IS students, and foster the careers of IS faculty.